Banana bread with a twist

Yesterday I made banana bread with a twist. I made it as a treat for working hard on my revision. But I didn’t have much time, 30 minutes maximum, because we were going out on our bikes with some friends. I used a different recipe because we didn’t have any soft butter so decided to use a Mary Berry recipe that called for the butter to be melted. It also had an extra of cocoa powder.

Me and my new cookery book!
Me and my new cookery book!

blog2

The final result (pasta with cream, ham and peas)

I also cooked tea for my friends out of my new cookbook – Silver Spoon for Children which I got from Grandma and Grandpa for my birthday recently.  I chose to do tagliatelle with ham, peas and cream because it was easy and quick and we had all the ingredients except tagliatelle but I just used normal pasta.  The majority verdict was delicious! And the banana bread was a great success!

There was even some pasta left for Mummy and Daddy’s dinner.  Daddy said “We have eaten well tonight – I didn’t think Isobel’s banana bread could get any better, turns out I was wrong!”

1oog unsalted butter

250g self raising flour

150g light brown sugar

2 eggs, at room temperature

3 peeled ripe bananas

3 tablespoons hot water( from kettle)

3 tablespoons cocoa powder

Grease a 900g loaf tin with butter and line with a long strip of baking paper.

Preheat the oven to 180°c then put the butter  a saucepan and melt gently over a low heat; cool. Put the flour and sugar into a mixing bowl and stir with a wooden spoon to break up any lumps of sugar.

Add the eggs to the pan of cool, but still melted butter and mix well with a fork. Use the fork to mash the bananas on a plate (it’s okay if there is still some lumps as long as there not to big). Add the egg mixture and bananas to the flour mixture and mix well with a wooden spoon. Spoon half of the mixture into another mixing bowl.

Put the cocoa powder in a heatproof bowl and carefully stir in the hot water to make a smooth paste.

Fill the tin with the two mixtures. Using two spoons swirl to marble the mixture. Bake for 45-50 mins. Set tin on a wire rack to cool completely before removing from the tin.

Enjoy!

Marble effect in full force!
Marble effect in full force!
2 thoughts on “Banana bread with a twist

Leave a Reply

