Fabulous Figs!

Figs. Figs, figs and figs!  That’s all we have in the fridge at the  moment.  Even though I’ve made a double batch of fig jam there is still loads of figs in the fridge.

IMG_4723

I’m going to make a fig pie on Saturday as I need to get some of my project done and my papa is coming over so I’ve decided to cook a three course meal: Soup first, then chilli wraps and last but definitely not least fig, raspberry and cardamom pie. Where you say did I get all these figs?

IMG_2039

I have a fig tree at the bottom of my garden and every year we have a crop that we can pick and is ripe.  The rest of them fall on the floor and my brother and I have to pick them up off the floor. We used to get 5p for each fig but my Mum and Dad soon realised that was way too much so now we’re down to 1p  for every  fig!

FIG JAM

1  kg fresh figs, stems removed and roughly chopped

750g caster sugar

1 tablespoon ground allspice (I think it’s very nice with the allspice but you don’t have to put that much in if you don’t want to.)

1 teaspoon cinnamon

juice and zest of 1/2 a lemon

IMG_4719

 

Weigh the figs after trimming and chopping them. I’d suggest weighing the sugar before doing the figs. Put the figs into a bowl along with the sugar, spices and lemon juice.  Cover with a clean tea towel and leave to steep for 2 hours, stirring occasionally.

IMG_2036

 

Transfer to a large (or even a special jam) pan.  Our jam pan used to belong to my great-grandmother.

IMG_2047

Slowly bring to the boil, stirring often until the sugar has dissolved. Increase the heat and boil gently for about 30 minutes before testing for a set (Put 2 plates in the freezer and put a drop of jam on the plate and put back in freezer. Take out after 1 min, run your finger through it and if it wrinkles it’s set, if it doesn’t do it again. Keep doing as such until it wrinkles.)

IMG_2046
testing

Remove the pot from the heat and skim off any scum.  Allow the jam to cool a bit before pouring into hot, sterilized jars.  Seal the jars and allow the jam to cool completely before storing and labelling.

 

fig jam!
fig jam!

Hope you enjoy!   Some of the best ways to enjoy the fig jam are with freshly baked bread, biscuits and cheese or with porridge!

IMG_2060 (2)

 

2 thoughts on “Fabulous Figs!

Leave a Reply

