Brilliant Banana Bread

The brilliance of banana bread is that it’s a cake but it’s quite healthy and it uses up lots of bananas. I really like banana bread and my Mum has cooked it all through my childhood and I have helped quite a bit (mostly by pinching) and  decided that I should make it. I hadn’t known this before my  Mum told me, you can freeze bananas! Weird fact eh? Not one that many know either. To freeze bananas you have to peel them and wrap them in foil. As you may have established by now I love banana bread. This is another one of my adapted Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall recipes. I adapted it by putting prunes in it instead of sultanas.

the ingredients

INGREDIENTS makes 1 loaf

75g dried apricots

75g prunes

1 lemon

100g soft butter

125g caster sugar

2 large eggs

3 bananas

200g flour

IMG_4420
the tins

METHOD

Preheat the oven to 160c and line the tin with baking paper. Chop the apricots and the prunes so they’re the same size as sultanas.Grate the zest of the lemon. Cream the butter and sugar together. Beat in one of the eggs then do the same with the other one. Add the lemon zest and the fruit. Sift the flour into the bowl and mix. Mash the bananas and mix well. Dollop the mixture in the tin and bake for an hour and check after 50 minutes. Stick a skewer in the banana bread and to tell if it’s ready the skewer has to come out with a couple of crumbs sticking to it. The bread should be golden and domed on the top.

IMG_4422
Domed and golden brown
2 thoughts on “Brilliant Banana Bread

  1. We must be related Issy as all of us LOVE banana cake too. Question …. why do you have to freeze the bananas in foil? I only ask as I’ve just frozen some in freezer bags … oops. Lauren made banana cake last week – very nice, she put mango in it which was good. But I’m definitely going to get her to try your one, the apricots sound fab xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

