Magic Moussaka

I’m calling this recipe magic moussaka because it is the only thing my brother likes with aubergine. This recipe unlike some others is completely my own creation. I got the idea (and made it) in Leeds while with my grandparents. My Grandmother suggested I make something for my blog. She had mentioned moussaka on the train while going up to Leeds so I decided to look for a recipe to interpret. All the recipes I found didn’t really appeal to me. So I asked my Grandmother whether I could make it one night. She said I could. So here is moussaka the way I did it:

photo 4

INGREDIENTS serves 9-10

can be frozenphoto 2

MINCE  

 1 large onion (chopped)

1 kg mince (lamb) 2 large aubergines (1 and a 1/2 chopped, the rest sliced)

mushrooms (sliced and chopped)

tin chopped tomatoes

250g tomato puree

little stock, water, or red wine

2 sticks cinnamon

A few squirts of tomato ketchup

POTATOES  

1 large pan of 7 or 8,  peeled & sliced potatoes

CHEESE SAUCE

550g mature cheddar (grated)

litre (2 pints) milk

heaped table spoons flour

125g (1 teaspoon) ground nutmeg

METHOD

Fry chopped onion lightly. Brown the mince in the sauce pan (drain fatty liquid if necessary). Add the chopped aubergine & chopped mushrooms.  Add chopped tomatoes, tomato puree and tomato ketchup. Add the water (or whatever you’re using). Add 2 cinnamon sticks then stir until its all mixed. Put in the oven at 150c for 1 hr. Now boil potato slices until they’re ALMOST soft. Then drain and put aside. Melt the butter in a pan.  Add the flour.  Stir until bubbling. Gradually add the milk, beat all the lumps out when really thick. Add the rest of the milk slowly until a smooth, dropping consistency then add grated cheese finally nutmeg and stir. Once that’s done put the sauce on a clean surface and get 2 dishes. To assemble put a layer of mince on the bottom them place the potatoes on top, then the sliced aubergine, and finally some cheese sauce. Repeat for the second dish and put them in the oven. And there you are, your magical moussaka

photo 3

3 thoughts on “Magic Moussaka

  1. I agree John! Question Isobel – if I were to make this for Uncle Adam would I just double up the number of aubergines in place of the minced lamb do you think? Thanks chef xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

